The Makati Medical Center Institutional Review Board (MMC IRB) is composed of a multidisciplinary group. It consists of seven physicians, one nurse, one pharmacist and two non-institutional (lay) members. To represent the lay sector, the IRB has a psychotherapist and an Information Technology and Statistical Consultant. Individually, the board members have the qualifications and experiences to review the technical and ethical aspects of specific health-related researches in their fields of specializations. In areas where additional expertise is needed, the IRB maintains a pool of GCP-certified independent consultant reviewers who are assigned to review protocols   when their expertise is needed.

Our Team


Dr. D. Darwin A. Dasig was appointed as Chair last October 2019. He has been an IRB Member since July 2014 and was appointed Vice Chair in January 2019. He is currently the Chair of the Department of Neuroscience.  He is also a clinical investigator with research interests on aging and dementia, chronology and nerve and muscle disorder.


Dr. Carolyn Butler was appointed as Vice Chair last December 2020. She was first appointed as member on July 2019. She is currently the Chair of Community Services for the Department of Pediatrics. She is a Pediatric Neurologist practicing in Makati Medical Center and Asian Hospital and Medical Center.


Ms. Hazel Faye R. Docuyanan is the Assistant Vice President of the Department of Pharmacy Services  and Chief Pharmacy Officer at Makati Medical Center. She obtained her degree of Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and Masteral in Hospital Pharmacy at the University of the Philippines – Manila. Ms. Docuyanan is the appointed Member-Secretary of the IRB. She has been with the IRB since January 2007.


Dr. Janice C. Caoili is the Section Chief of Infectious Disease at Makati Medical Center since November 2018. Dr. Caoili is a research consultant for the Tropical Disease Foundation, Inc., World Health Organization Consultant for HIV, head of the Center for Travel and Tropical Medicine, HIV Treatment Hub of Makati Medical Center and Head of the Infection Prevention and Control Unit. Dr. Caoili took her HIV fellowship training at Arthur Ashe Endowment’s International Healthcare Worker Training Program, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York.

Ms. Jocelyn N. Laverinto has been with the IRB as a lay, non-institutional member since 2006. She specializes in Psychotherapy especially in Individual, Couple, and Group Therapy. She is the current facilitator of Heal for Life Philippines Healing Week.

Mr. Joshua Jaime P. Nario was appointed as a regular member of IRB in 2018. He is the Senior Program Manager of Nursing Education, Research and Development.

Dr. Joseph D. Parra was initially appointed as an alternative member in 2018 but was later on appointed to be a regular member of the IRB to provide expertise in Oncology. He is a Medical Oncologist practicing in Ospital ng Makati, Mary Mediatrix Medical Center, St. Luke’s Medical Center Global City and Makati Medical Center. He obtained his Fellowship training in Medical Oncology at St. Luke’s Medical Center.

Ms. Imelda Santiago is a lay, non-institutional member since June 2012. She is a graduate of AB Mathematics – cum laude – at Assumption College and earned her Master’s degree of Science in Statistics at the Ateneo de Manila University.

Dr. Michael Wassmer is a member of the IRB since November 2009. He is the former Head of Pediatric Intensive Care Unit and a research committee member of the Department of Pediatrics. Currently, he is the President of the Makati Medical Center Medical Staff Association and the Vice Chair of the MMC Pediatric Critical Care Section.

Dr. Ma. Teresa E. Dimagiba was initially appointed as an independent consultant in 2018 but was later on appointed to be a regular member of the IRB since August 2019. She is currently an active consultant in the Department of Dermatology in Makati Medical Center and Paranaque Doctors.

Dr. Gabriel G. Gabriel is the Head of Emergency Medicine in Makati Medical Center. He was initially appointed as an independent consultant in 2018 but was later on appointed to be a regular member of the IRB since August 2019.

Institutional Review Board Assistants

Vanessa Mae L. Villajuan

Kristine D. Mercado